Religion and the Vampire, Interview Three

Posted: Saturday, 31 March, 2012 by deacongray in Community Articles, Religion
Tags: , , , , , , ,

When younger, I was thin as a rail. As I’ve grown older, I’ve put on weight. I have continued to love myself in all those roles. Part of my spirituality, I always tell people, is to accept yourself for who you are.

Troy Perry

Acceptance of self can seem elusive. Especially for those of us within the Vampire Community – and even those who choose to live outside the confines of such a loose community that are still vampiric. We are not all lucky enough to be born with that innate understanding of who we are, nor are we lucky enough to all have family members that know and understand to explain it to us. It can be even more elusive for those of us with strong spiritual or religious beliefs. Finding out that you, the real you, is contrary to all your religious beliefs might turn many of us from that religion. Conversely, it can lead us to deny ourselves, which can be unhealthy. Today we are joined by Elizabeth Love.

Hello and thank you very much for agreeing to this interview. I know that religion is a very personal topic, one that many of us are not willing to discuss with others. It is especially difficult to discuss with those outside our respective religious circles as not everyone is open to beliefs other than their own.

GYP: Will you please start us off by explaining your vampirism? Are you sang or psi?
EL: I am a psi vampire.

GYP: Thank you! And what faith do you follow?
EL: I am a member of the church of Jesus Christ of latter day saints, AKA Mormon

GYP: Do you attend regular services?
EL: yes, I attend church meetings every Sunday.

GYP: How long have you followed this particular path?
EL: when you say particular path do you mean vampirism or religion? Well if you’re asking about religion I’ve been Mormon all my life, and as for vampirism I’ve been aware that I was different since I can remember. I have been a part of the vampire community for about 5 years now.

GYP: Do you ever feel that your vampiric needs are contrary to the teachings of your religion?
EL: Yes, considering that if any church leaders found out about my vampirism i would get into huge amounts of trouble and removed from the church.

GYP: Do you incorporate your religion into your vampirism?
EL: I don’t really know how to answer this question and the last one (GYP: Do you incorporate your vampirism into your religion?). Just that I’ve adapted my beliefs to suit my needs. I take aspects of other religions and beliefs and add them to my own. I like being open minded when it comes to religion and my beliefs. I love to learn and widen my horizon when it comes to knowledge.

GYP: I apologize if my “incorporate religion into vampirism” was a little confusing. What I am wondering, especially as you’re a psi vamp, is if you feed during services.
EL: Yes, on occasion I do feed from others during church services.

GYP: Since you know that your vampirism would get you removed from your Church, I imagine you are very careful who you share it with offline. Have you found any others within your religion that are like you?
EL: I am beyond careful when it comes to sharing what I am with other people. So far I have not found others like myself that are the same religion.

Leave a Reply

