Interview with Magus Etu Malku: Preternatural Musician, Composer and Magickian

Posted: Sunday, 20 May, 2012 by deacongray in Uncategorized

By Kelly Scarlet Rakoczy
The radiance of the black sun has revealed a legion of brilliant scholars, artisans, musicians, and writers within the occult world. Allow me to introduce the preternaturally-talented Etu Malku, Magus III°, of the Ordo Luciferi.

Etu is a phenomenal composer of original musical works, a virtuoso musician, and writer. Etu has been a professional musician for 30 years, recently retiring from the “road” to devote his attention to “musiq” as well as mentoring budding occultists.

KSR: What instrument did you pick up first and why?
EM: I first took to the piano and organ after watching a young Asian girl play beautifully at a friend of my mother’s home. After totally sucking (pun intended) and being influenced by Ian Anderson of Jethro Tull,  I switched to flute and guitar. Eventually, just the guitar (I sucked at  flute as well . . . *double pun intended).

KSR: When did you decide you were going to be a professional musician? Was there an event that changed your life? Who were your early influences? What kind of music did you write and play during your career?

EM: As they say, I didn’t choose music, it chose me. At the age of 18 and missing one class in order to graduate High School, instead of going to summer class I auditioned for a band, got the gig, and moved down the Jersey shore to be their lead guitarist. They were quite popular and I played almost every night for three years to clubs packed with crazies!

My early influences were Jimi Hendrix, Jimmy Page, and Tommi Iommi (Black Sabbath). I actually got the gig down the shore because I knew most of Iommi’s Sabbath guitar parts and solos.

Robert Fripp and King Crimson came into my life later (1985) and throughout the 90’s I worked for a very predominant Spoken Word artist off and on, Frank Messina. I got to tour the world with him and began picking up other gigs from that .

KSR: What instruments do you employ today? Have you built or modified any instruments?
EM: I play regular 6 string guitars and yes, I modified a few guitars to be fretless and play them all over my recordings these days.
The fretless guitars allow me to emulate Middle Eastern and Indian instruments by affording me the luxury of playing quartal tones not found in Western music.

KSR: I hear a lot of influences in your work including some classical phrasing.  Your Vampyre Suite seems very complex.   Are there any classical composers who have moved you, influenced you?

http://www.wix.com/xeperaum/anen-sedjet

EM: Many of the Classical composers influence me, in particular Bartok, Bach, Grieg, Beethoven, and Wagner.

KSR: Do you have a favorite genre? What moves you today?


EM: These days I am focusing on the marriage of Ancient Musiq (Persian, Sumerian, Egyptian, Hindu) with Industrial sounds, sort of an Azam Ali meets NIN.

KSR: Do you have a favorite musician of all time?
EM: It would be Robert Fripp without hesitation. In 1985 I had the honor of living and breathing this maestro as I lived with him as a student at the Claymont Society for Continuous Education in West Virginia, where Mr. Fripp had taken over as president from J.G. Bennet who was a student of Gurdjieff. What I took home with me has stayed with me to this moment and fuels my every musiqal intention.

KSR: Your musiq is very moving emotionally; it induces an altered state when I listen. It is odd, in that, I find myself alert yet transported to some fantastic landscape. I’m curious about how my brain rhythms have been altered. What “magick ” have you woven into your musiq?
EM: Well, thank you Maga! Obviously there is not ample time to go into the very aspects of my Musiq, but I can address a few details.
I simply use the ‘Q’ in Musiq as did Aleister Crowley to distance Magick from the common Magic (parlor tricks).
Heka is the ancient Kemetic Art of High Vibrational Magick, it is the Mother of all magickal paths. To cause change in one’s self and in one’s environment through imposed Will.
Vibration to me, is the core of everything in both Objective and Subjective Universes, it is the very foundation of Creation. Musiq taps into this at a depth not possible by the other art forms.
I create the majority of my work with the use of ritualism, sigilism, and neuro-programming.
Forced resonance is a technique known by the most ancient of shamans, it entails reordering the brainwaves temporarily to achieve trance induction, which in turn opens the gateways of the unconscious mind where archetypal structures dwell.
A full and detailed understanding of this will be the basis of a book I am completing (someday, lol) entitled Tarkhem: Musiq and the Black Arts.

KSR: Does Marilyn Manson use these same techniques? I’ve heard he can make dogs go bonkers. That’s interesting and all but I’m sure you have a more positive goal in mind.


EM: I understand that Marilyn is a CoS card holder, but I don’t know him/her so I can’t say for sure! Some of the more primary techniques are available to most any artist, and many artists unknowingly utilize such techniques naturally. I like Manson’s music by the way.

KSR: What are some of your recent and current musiq projects? What muses do you have? Are you stimulated by the challenge of scoring musiq for a poem? What about other influences, ones that come from within?

EM: As I mentioned earlier, I have always been associated with a poet and this fits my style rather well. Recently, I have composed Musiq for two poets, Victoria Cullen and Vic Tor Ria…must be something in that Roman name that oozes creativity!
My Musiq is inspired by many things, but most importantly it is the product of My Dæmon.
Through ritualistic means I have realized the better of my work, which is best experienced by listening to it and you are free to listen to it at:   www.tarkhem.com

KSR: In addition to being a musiqal composer and musician, you are a Magus III ° in the Ordo Luciferi, a Luciferian order. What is a Luciferian? What are some of your projects with the Order?


EM: The Ordo Luciferi does not mandate any projects as you know Maga Kelly, but it is to our benefit as Luciferians to assist in the Gnosis and Spiritual evolution of those that seek the Mysteries, Ir Shti Shata-tu!
Luciferianism is a philosophy of the Left Hand Path that uses magick, ritual, and science to achieve Apotheosis, Individuation, and Autotheism. Luciferians combine knowledge with experience to achieve Gnosis. We embrace a balance of Light and Dark. Most of all what separates a Luciferian from most other Left Hand Paths is Compassion.

KSR:  Speaking of the mysteries, you have been a moderator at a popular vampyre website for years. Are you a vampyre? Do you practice vampyrism?

EM: My stance on Vampyrism is well known to many much to their dismay, but suffice to say I do practice what I consider Vampyrism. It is what author and Luciferian Michael W. Ford has termed Predatory Spiritualism (I don’t know if he coined this).
I would like to share a pdf file that is usually only made available to Ordo Luciferi members that I mentor; it explains briefly my definition of Predatory Spiritualism: http://www.4shared.com/office/DbydspEF/Predatory_Spiritualism.html

KSR: How may fans listen to and purchase your musiq?

EM: Embarrassingly, I get about 800-900 hits a month and half of them purchase one or more downloads . . . it seems the Occult Community is healthy, alive, and stretching its wings!

http://www.tarkhem.com

KSR: Thank you, Magus Etu, for graciously agreeing to be interviewed by The GraveYard Press. The vampyre and occult communities have been enriched by knowing you.  We look forward to your future accomplishments.

EM:  Thank you Maga Kelly and The GraveYard Press for such a fine platform to speak about such topics that are not usually spoken of these days.

Hemhemti Saatet-ta Quetu Hauna-Aru Her-Hra Amam Tutu Khermuti Sekhem
(no, you cannot know what that means!! Muwhahaha)

KSR:  Be assured, Magus, I will transcribe the above ancient Egyptian…even if it takes me 20 years.

Leave a Reply

