Experimenting with Soup for Thirsty Thursday

Posted: Thursday, 31 May, 2012 by deacongray in Food & Fun, Thirsty Thursday

I love soup. Especially cream based soups. Growing up, my father used to make a ‘sausage, potato, and kale’ soup. He used smoked sausage, potatoes, kale (or spinach when he could not find kale) mixed with chicken broth, water, and some seasonings. It was really good, if a little bland. I took that soup and mixed it up a bit. It is very similar to the Zuppa Tuscana at Olive Garden – and very good.

Here is how I normally make it:

1 pound ground Italian Sausage
1 onion, diced
1 teaspoon minced garlic
1 box chicken broth
4 cups water
thinly sliced potatoes
kale
heavy whipping cream

Brown the sausage and remove from pan. In grease, plus a little olive oil, sauté onions and garlic until translucent. Add sausage back in plus water, chicken broth, and potatoes. Simmer until potatoes are soft, then add kale and cream. I also add ground red pepper and crushed red pepper flakes.

My husband does not like kale – or other bitter greens – so I have not been adding that lately. Tonight, I went to make some for the girls at work tomorrow, but discovered I am out of chicken broth, so we are experimenting with beef broth. The cream and beef broth make an odd color for the soup, but it should still be OK. I’ll let you know!

Have you been experimenting with soups or other traditional dishes lately? Let us know!

Leave a Reply

