Religion and the Vampire, Interview Eight

Posted: Monday, 4 June, 2012 by deacongray in Religion
Tags: , ,

A tremendous stream is flowing toward the ocean, carrying us all along with it; and though like straws and scraps of paper we may at times float aimlessly about, in the long run we are sure to join the Ocean of Life and Bliss. ~ Swami Vivekananda

Each week, we interview a member of the community to learn more about their spiritual path. As I have said before, I truly believe that this allows us to better understand our fellow community members. Vampirism can be – and often is – such a small part of our totality, but too often what we really know about each other begins and ends with feeding habits. This week, GraveYard Press staff spoke with Laurentz Yvann, who is a vocal and well-liked member of the community.

GYP: Will you please start us off by explaining your vampirism? Are you sang or psi?
LY: I don’t actually distinguish between the two as I am adaptable to both modes of feeding…but predominantly, I am a psychic vampire. I am adept at psychometry which makes me essentially a touch telepath…and I am also highly empathic; so I’d say that I find psychic feeding ( line of sight ) and astral feeding the most convenient methods. But my all time favorite is via ceremonial sanguinarian methods which employ the butterfly phlebotomy tools and Waterford chalices. (Yes I’m kind of a crystal snob. LOL )

GYP: I must ask, when you do indulge in a sanguine feeding, is it for the energy or something more (that may not have been defined yet?)
LY: It is reserved for a two fold purpose; the first is to cement permanent and lasting bonds between “kin”… the second reason is for a mutual psychic energy exchange. Yes I did say “psychic” because it is my belief that the blood is merely a physical “witness” that amplifies donor and vampire telepathic rapport and thus facilitates the exchange of vital life force or chi.

GYP: At this point, Laurentz Yvann has asked that I mention something for him: As a Bennuine (member of House Bennu), he holds a monthly Communion Rite in effigy with his fellow Bennuines that mimics Catholic Consecration. This rite serves to meld the House and Member life forces by merging their hearts and minds through symbolism.
GYP: Thank you! And what faith do you follow?
LY: I am an American Catholic, catechized in the post Vatican II traditions emphasizing resurrection, triumph over death, self sacrifice, purposeful suffering and life everlasting.

GYP: For those of us not of the Catholic faith, can you differentiate American Catholicism from Roman Catholicism?
LY: Roman Catholics are slavishly devout to the dogma of the church teachings including all their prohibitions. American Catholics are a little more reformed from such strict adherence to the church’s prohibitions. For example, in the American Catholic church, you’ll find splinter groups like Dignity Church who embrace Gay Catholics and you’ll find many pastors turning a blind eye to contraception and remarriage under certain circumstances.

GYP: Do you attend regular services?
LY: In the past two years, my attendance has been mildly erratic, but in earnest…I’ve buried 5 beloveds in the past 15 months, and that has shaken my faith a little. But what remains behind of my faith is still what I’d describe as a kind of cosmological gnostic mysticism. (very similar to that of the Essenes)

GYP: I’m sorry to hear about your losses. That’s really rough.

GYP: Can you explain cosmological gnostic mysticism and the Essenes to readers?
LY:  Cosmological gnosticism is by my personal definition the search to see a unifying vivifying creative force that animates and gives varying levels of intelligence to organic cell and tissue systems from simple plant and amoebae all the way up the many phylum to ultimately humanoids. It is an animistic philosophy that recognizes both creationism and evolution seamlessly and implicitly.

The Essences were a Rabbinical group of mystics who sought the Divine in a variety of outwardly ascetic practices and held to the belief that they would receive their souls back after they mortally died. I’m including a definitive link… albeit not a complete one…http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Essenes 

Central to my belief system is that (like the Tibetan Monks too) Vampire maintain a hold on their core identity or soul which is immutable and inviolable and immortally eternal. Jesus is purported in John 14:2 to have said…”In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you.” As a Catholic Vampire I interpret that to mean that there are multiple dimensions of equal physicality and expression in which my soul will extrude into after I leave this current vessel and I will assume another physically expressed body in yet another life-cycle.

Mortal life and death are central themes to my Catholic Vampiric Spirituality Mikyla. Through the lens of my beliefs I view mortal death as a gateway of rebirth… a resurrection of one’s soul, much like that found in the mystery of Jesus Christ’s resurrection. As a Vampire incarnate in humanoid form, I feel that it is my life quest to take and give life energies in accordance with the Divine Order. I also understand human suffering much more intimately now and appreciate it in a gentle and self sacrificial perspective… I see it as a prelude to the Death Angel’s kiss… so to speak prosaically. But in accordance to Divine Order I also believe that personal suffering should be assuaged medically and conciliatorily. Our many sciences of healing allow us to lessen and make bearable the human suffering that accompanies this human condition.

Do I believe that our sciences will evolve to a point where organic life and humanoid life will become virtually physically immortal? Yes, I believe it is entirely within our ken and evolution to achieve virtual organic immortality. But I believe that the soul will still have to slumber after some time in the state of “immortality” to then reawaken refreshed and renewed. So I foresee that the human “vampires” of the future will still “have to go to ground” at different times in their elongated mortal life spans. But I also foresee that even they will eventually opt to leave the body mortal out of sheer weariness and ennui and wise yearning for something far better in other dimensions. This is to me the Divine Order of Creation.

GYP: How long have you followed this particular path?
LY: In all complete honesty, I would have to say that my mystical form of Catholicism has been an indelible part of my psyche ever since early childhood. As a young Catholic child, I was particularly fascinated by the scriptures referring to Jesus’ miracles…most notably his raising Lazarus from death… the reference to Jesus’ curing the woman with the heavy bleeding-whom was cured when she touched the hem of his garment….and of course the scriptural references to Jesus’ mystery of his death and resurrection.

GYP: Do you ever feel that your vampiric needs are contrary to the teachings of your religion?
LY: No…to my reasoning, the surrogacy of the transsubstantiation of water and wine and host into the “Body and Blood” of our resurrected Christ is very much in keeping with both my Catholicism and it’s many pagan origins.

The notion of blood sacrifice goes back to at least Sumerian customs; I suspect even further.

GYP: Do you incorporate your religion into your vampirism?
LY: Every chance I can I use my Catholicism as a quasi religious model to base either my rationale or my ceremonial rituals upon.

Leave a Reply

