Religion and the Vampire, Interview Ten

Posted: Sunday, 17 June, 2012 by deacongray in Articles of Interest, Religion
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Hello, dear readers! We here at the GraveYard Press do hope you are enjoying your beautiful Sunday. Or, whatever day it is, if you happen to be in a different hemisphere. Right, that would be Monday then! This week, we are skipping the quotes and getting straight to our interview with Chuck Henderson. We hope that you enjoy this as much as we did!

Hello and thank you very much for agreeing to this interview. I know that religion is a very personal topic, one that many of us are not willing to discuss with others. It is especially difficult to discuss with those outside our respective religious circles as not everyone is open to beliefs other than their own.

GYP: Will you please start us off by explaining your vampirism? Are you sang or psi?
CH: Good morning. My vampirism seems to be a hybrid of both sang and psi, however I refer to myself as a sang vampire.

GYP: Why do you choose one name over the other? Is it just for the clarity of being able to claim a particular feeding style, or is there a deeper reason?
CH: Personally, I choose sang over psi because it is more inclusive of the energy and life force that blood gives. More commonly I choose “hybrid”. The reasoning is relatively basic but does have deeper meaning in my path of study that I have followed in my youth until present.

GYP: Thank you! And what faith do you follow?
CH: I follow the Ecclectic Wiccan faith; Greek, Roman, Egyptian, and Celtic belief systems.

GYP: And what led you to these particular belief systems? Is it an issue of your ancestral background, or did they “speak” to you in a way that others did not?
CH: At 8 years old I sought out a belief system that connected the best with my own personal beliefs. Eclectic Wicca most closely fit my own ideas on how to live my life. My ancestry does play a part in my beliefs; I’ve Native American Shamanism and Irish magick running deeply in my family tree. These two belief systems fit with me perfectly as I am a very nature loving individual.

GYP: Do you attend regular services?
CH: I do hold regular services for my Coven, when possible, based on the Sabbats and individual schedules.

GYP: And do you hold a particular position within your coven?
CH: I am the founder of Stonehaven Coven and have held the High Priest position for the past 16 years.

GYP: How long have you followed this particular path?
CH: I have followed the Wiccan faith for sixteen years.

GYP: What, if any, religious path were you raised in?
CH: I was raised in a household that went to church for holidays and funerals only. My mother raised my brothers and myself alone. She always told us different myths from Europe and the U.S. and it made me realize that magick is all around us. I started studying Wicca at 8 years old.

GYP: Do you ever feel that your vampiric needs are contrary to the teachings of your religion?
CH: I feel that the teachings of vampire civility, The Black veil for example, and the Wiccan rede are very similar in direction. One must follow a code of conduct as either Wiccan or Vampire for the community to function and progress. “To harm none” is essential in my practice.

GYP: I personally, and many others within the community, feel that the Black Veil is outdated and unnecessary. It has always been my personal stance that as long as we are following the laws of our respective city/county/state/country then we are doing well as a community. Do you feel that the Black Veil is vital for the community to function and progress, or do you think that we could/should all act as the responsible adults we claim to be and that would work just as well?
CH: I do feel that the Black veil fits contemporary and should still be followed but could use some amending. Following laws based on location should also be considered for common sense and the future of the community as a whole.

GYP: Do you incorporate your religion into your vampirism?
CH: The incorporation of vampirism and Wicca together has made for some potent magick and magickal feedings. With the will of the very life force of the body you can strengthen your intent, your focus, banishment, etc. When you feed you can make it as dear and great as the Great Rite itself.

Comments
  1. Juliette says:

    This is fun. Glad I discovered your blog.

Leave a Reply

