The Moon Light Path is Lunacy!

Posted: Thursday, 18 December, 2014 by deacongray in Articles of Interest, Community Articles, Editorials, Uncategorized

 

By Ezra Canidea13_Frosted-Coyote-Watching

GYP-©Dec 14 2014

“In my mind I can hear the wind in the trees. With my eyes closed I can still see the light of the moon paining the inside of lids a pale white. The smell of snow is in the air, though I know it has been years since any snow has fallen here. I’m home with my pack, and our energy is magic that flows through the trees, over the brooks and boulders. We are creatures of the wild, even though I am a creature of the couch.”

I found that things some call the Therian path many years ago. I was a child of fourteen or fifteen, and just kept finding myself drawn to the natural world. During storms I wanted to scream into the wind, or jump on my horse and ride toward the mountains. My father said I had the spirit of a Coyote and I agree with him in a manner of speaking.

I tell you this not because I think I am some Shaman with a coyote totem, or  skin walker, but it is how I found myself. Something inside me simply feels the inner coyote. Call it what you want to, a delusion, desire, or simply my way of dealing with life. I don’t honestly care what others say about it.

I named this article “The Moonlight Path is Lunacy” because while I have been wandering around the Therian and Otherkin, groups I mostly hear just that. Lunacy.

We do not physically shift. If those who tell me that some do shift physically would be so kind as to show me some physical evidence that isn’t contact lenses or computer graphics I might change my mind, but so far that hasn’t happened. I don’t have a need or desire to disprove another’s experience in how they feel, or what they believe spiritually, but if you are going to claim a physical shape shift into an animal, your words aren’t going to cut it.

In my spirituality we are all creatures of energy, creatures of many life times, a journey that is based on the idea of spiritual growth, not a human desire to be unique. Spirituality isn’t about who can make the most ridiculous claim, or what animal you think you secretly are. You are a human being with the energy of the universe locked inside you.

I say this because people need to stop fooling themselves and actually try to learn and grow. You won’t be able to explore great minds and thoughts if you are too busy looking on the internet for just the right fake teeth, or some program that lets you make digital pictures as you imagined yourself as a wolf.

There is no Alpha Wolf in nature I had read, and I believe that is true, so stop thinking that by claiming to be one, you somehow are more impressive than others. It only shows that you don’t really understand nature that well. Wolves don’t howl at the moon, they aren’t brave, or strong noble wild creatures, they simply are a species that has developed a way to survive. All humans do the same thing.

I am not saying that your energy isn’t touched by the wild. I believe it is. My energy was once part of a coyote, after all energy can never be destroyed, only changed, and I believe that in each change it takes something of what it was previously with it.

It would be foolish to say I know everything that is out there spiritually. I don’t know about dragons, or pixies, other things people in these groups talk about. I only know that we need to explore and learn, both inside ourselves and in the teachings of others. We need to do it with a discerning mind and allow our spirit guide us toward the growth it needs.

 

Sources: http://io9.com/why-everything-you-know-about-wolf-packs-is-wrong-502754629

http://www.wolfscience.at/en/aboutus/team/friederikerange/

 

Comments
  1. I love it when I come across an intelligent other in or therian article or info. This is one of them. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

