A Bicker of Vampires

Posted: Saturday, 27 December, 2014 by deacongray in Articles of Interest, Ask the Vampires, Community Articles, Uncategorized

By Deacon Gray

(c) October 2014

crows flight

“I give up. I joined the community pages two months ago and all anyone every does is bitch and fight.”

 

A week ago a new member of the community contacted me after witnessing a fight break out on a Facebook message board.  He was friendly, outgoing and I had never seen him post anywhere before, so I was a little surprised to receive a message. However, rather than leave, I managed to convince him to sit down for a brief interview about what he had seen and why he feels that being in the OVC is pointless.

GYP: Will you start by telling me a little about yourself?

 

Six: Hello, my name is Travis but I have been going by a fake name. I awakened a few months ago, well transitioned anyway. I have been drawn to energy work and spiritualism and the works of Michael Ford since I was around fifteen. It’s been a few years since then, and one of my friends in who also works energy pointed out that I was constantly feeding and thought it might be a form of predatory spiritualism.
I originally thought that the whole concept was dumb, but after a trip where I found myself often isolated, I realized I couldn’t do well without being around other people and drawing energy from them. The few people I was around, were constantly drained and I noticed they didn’t want to be around me much. Sure, it could just be my sunny disposition, but once I identified the problem and started to shield myself from their energy, it was all good.

 

GYP: It sounds like you were on the right track. What brought you to the Vampire community? It seems like you had the skills needed already.

 

Six: I followed some links people posted on a message board. A few people who were on that board said they had interacted with the vampire community. They said to check out a few places to help me learn more about myself. Most of those sites weren’t very active, but there was a lot of information. That part was awesome, with the exception of the interaction part.  I suppose that is what got me to Facebook. I always swore if it was a Facebook group, I wouldn’t join, but I did.

GYP: When you contacted me it seems you were pretty dissatisfied, what brought you to that disposition?

 

Six: Well, after several months of hanging out and watching the board I realized that every single conversation seemed to dis-evolve into childish arguments. You called it a Bicker of Vampires, and I realized you didn’t just mean the conversation, but any gathering of them.

At first I didn’t think it could be that bad, I mean there are a lot of groups. So I decided to check out several of them, both on line and off line to see what the deal was.

GYP: I think this is important, would you please tell us what you found?

Six: Well I started by looking for major organizations that had a presence online. It wasn’t as easy as I thought many of the Courts have a page to like, but not many people actually interacting at any major level on line.

Eventually I found people in NYC, JY, Austin, in each on the people were more interested in social drama that any meaningful education. In one Court forum they were bitching about another Court that was starting up. “Who gave them permission to start their own Court?” and “Make sure that people know that Court is not legitimate, I don’t care what the last Regent had to say about it, or who supports it, I want to see it go away.”

In one there are people who seem to actually spread all out lies about people they don’t like. Then when caught, they try to play like they are above it, even when the proof that they planted lies is right in front of them. I’m a peaceful man, but if someone accused me to sexual assault or pedophilia, or had someone attack me physically, it would take once before I went to their privet residence and changed their disposition with extreme malice.

GYP: Certainly you don’t think all the Vamps out there are just in it for the drama?

Six: Not at all. There are some damn fine people out there. I just don’t like where their community debates take me spiritually. I want to get in there and explain things, to try to be a peacekeeper, but I have seen out that works. The peacekeeper is attacked, the one making explanations is slighted unless they are years into the community.

I have found a few Houses I really respect. I would love to go to Michelle Belanger’s house gathering, or if Rose Mary ever decided to do and open house for her organization. So I know there are great vamps and people out there, but as far as facebook goes- I think you’re right about how the community should be called a “Bicker of Vampires”

Comments
  1. That’s all? It just ended without any conclusion or warning? I was just getting into the interview. :/

  2. Sometimes being in an organized group is not a good thing. I’ve found this out myself. Being with like-minded vampires is wonderful….to an extent. Power and position tends to blind these that are bickering. Find those who you are in tune with and just be. Let the others tear themselves down. That’s what I do anyways.

  3. Asif Murad says:

    The most interesting thing I find about these so called “courts” is overall friendly and kind facade that people who run them display to others in person and the absolute dichotomy of their actions when they are behind closed doors (as in a clique) or sitting behind the computer screen. I attribute this to perhaps a sociopathic mindset which might stem from getting a bit too carried away with the so called titles and acronyms that they are handed.

    And then, as was mentioned, how these people when confronted with their blatant lies carry on as if they never stated them. This is a result of banishing or removing those that would even dare to challenge the status quo. The “sheeple” that attend these gatherings seldom or ever dare point out the most abhorrent dishonesty simply because they do not wish to get thrown out. What matters to them most is being allowed to attend the gathering rather than actually pointing out the behavior of those that run them. This reveals a rather sad side to a lot of people but unfortunately this is essentially the reason such willful deceit is commonplace in these circles.

Leave a Reply

