Friends or Consumer group?

Posted: Friday, 12 June, 2015 by deacongray in Uncategorized

(c) Gyp Friday June 12, 2015

By Deacon Gray

Black Flowers

“There they goes again! I swear it’s like in every thread they post a link or self-promotes.” I’m tagged with this message sometime in the middle of the night, but as to what the messenger means, I have no clue.

“What they hell was that all about? Who are you talking about?” I respond, but it’s been hours since his message so I am a little surprised when I get a rapid response.

“Oh damn, sorry. Once you addressed it in the VCN I can’t stop seeing it everywhere. I swear every time I see a post by those guys, they never miss a chance to pimp their site, or articles. I guess I shouldn’t let it get to me.”

He was pointing out something I had been discussing with people in the “Vampire Community News”, how this community as a whole has become more of a consumer group than a community of vampires. More precisely, how people come to the community with no other purpose than exploitation of the community.

In the end, my late night messenger was right, he shouldn’t let it get to him, and neither should we really. There are a lot of groups out there that do not allow in people who advertise, or they limit it strictly. These groups aren’t elitist, but they are exclusive in that vampires, and their friends are welcomed, but the now overwhelming tide of exploitative people don’t really have a lot of room to play their role.

Make no mistake, there is nothing wrong with marketing to the community, the issue is the disruptive nature of those who side line conversations, or bury good topics. Rather than howl at the wind, I suggest looking into other groups, forums, websites and organizations and keep your options open. After all, they might have a product you want, though I will take my business to more legitimate organizations.

I wouldn’t say that people marketing to the community can’t be trusted, the opposite is true in many cases, but if they are manipulative in their marketing, you might want to consider who you do business with. Joining a group under the false pretense of actually being a friend to the community, rather than simply someone advertising, speaks to ethics to me. 

Leave a Reply

