The Vampire and my Daughter

Posted: Sunday, 25 January, 2015 by deacongray in Articles of Interest, Ask the Vampires, Community Announcements, Uncategorized

BatGirl

 

 

1/25/2015 © graveyardpress

Bad people are everywhere.  You can find them in every community whether the focus is surfing, or videos games, there are always bad people around. In our community it is more than just a problem, it’s a stigma, one that is very hard to break away from. It’s harder if we try to  ignore those issues.

I suppose that’s why I wanted to talk to someone who is affected by those issues. Sadly it didn’t take long to find someone to talk to. Sandy is a mother whose teenage daughter has been digging into this community for some time.  She agreed to speak to me because she has an issue with her teenage daughter and the countless attempts by various people who claim to be community members to seduce her daughter.

“Hi my name is Sandy. If you were expecting some kind of exotic “Nightside” name you are barking up the wrong tree. I’m not a member of the Vampire Community. Rather I wouldn’t be if I didn’t have to deal with a teen age girl who has decided she is a vampire. I won’t debate that aspect, people believe what they believe. I didn’t agree to talk because of belief one way or another.

Ok, ok, let me get my head straight. Let me start by saying that I am 40 (something) years old. My daughter is a staggering fifteen years old. I say staggering because I can still remember her pouting about her princess pony and glitter. The whole vampire, fitness model, pagan witchy stuff is a little new for me. Seeing pervy middle aged men hitting on my daughter because they are “Vampire Sires” took things in a whole weird direction. (This is where I roll my eyes)

How do you deal with having a teenage daughter who, and it isn’t just a mothers love that says so, is beautiful and intelligent? How do you deal with a girl who thinks about things like the concepts and philosophies of Jung, while not sure if she should have the dramatic red nails, or the dark green ones with musical notes? And IQ of 156, and three separate modeling companies trying to draw your kid into an industry of evil? (I know what they do at fashion shows, and NO)

You just, deal with it. The Vampires, that is a whole new angle. Five times now my little angel of a daughter has drawn so called vampires who are willing to teach her, four of those times there have been requests for pictures, and even after informed that she is under age, they still ask for images that aren’t something any mother would be pleased with.

Honestly  I know my kid needs to learn. This is a path she is exploring, and perhaps something she will grab onto in her life. I want her to learn  what she is actually getting involved with. What she keeps finding instead is people who want to see if she looks as good in a g-string as she does in tight jeans.(insert annoyed seriously protective mom look here)

I guess I asked to be able to speak in this forum to ask a question. Is there a safe place for a kid in the community? How can a Mother feel secure in allowing her child to interact, when over and over again it comes down to people trying to exploit her?( She isn’t stupid either, she conned one older guy into sending her 250$ for a prom dress)

Deacon has said I shouldn’t allow my daughter to be involved in anything without me being present. My daughter is less than thrilled with that concept. What does a parent do?

Are we supposed to ignore the twilight dumb vampirette crap so many are putting out there? Should we shrug when our kid wants to wear a corsett, show a lot of leg and sport fake teeth as they act out hyper sexual cleches?

I don’t think some of you realize how much you affect kids who read the stuff you write. I don’t think many of you really see that the things you are saying and doing and pushing can have a negative affect.

Sandy, Mother of a Vampire

Comments
  1. Unfortunately this happens everywhere on the internet, but your daughter seems intelligent enough to handle herself and avoid danger. Monitor her activities, stay open about and accept it as part of her so she won’t hide it from you. Explore it together. Try Facebook. There are reliable sources and people in the community, I can lead you to a few females who love to help. Also there are tons of book, Michelle Belanger, Corvis Nocturnum have been involved and writing on this subject for years

  2. Being a vamp and knowing what it was like as a teen vamp and knowing my strand is genetic and one day my children may start showing signs of vamperism terrified me, (though i’m no longer ashamed of what i am i still wouldn’t wish it on my worst enemies) i really wish there was a safe place for teen vamps to hang out and talk about what they are going through. I once thought of making a group but realizing how little i am in comparison to all the other influential people i dropped the idea. but the best thing you can do to help her is getting her into karate and yoga, anything that deals with energy control. though it wont be that connection with other vamps that she needs it will help her to control herself and satisfy the need for energy. if shes one of the lucky ones who grow out of it (not saying its just a faze, puberty can be very taxing and cause temporary vamperism) then she still walks away with useful life skills.

Leave a comment